Home » Events » Bank Holiday NSW
Sydney Harbour Regatta

Bank Holiday NSW

New South Wales has many ‘Bank Holidays’ – also known as Public Holidays – throughout the year.

With religious holidays, state-specific holidays and national celebration holidays, there are 10 Bank Holidays observed in Sydney.

Bank Holiday NSW 2024 Public Holiday August Dates, Sydney

In chronological order, NSW has the following public holidays each year: New Year’s Day (1 January); Australia Day (26 January); Good Friday, Easter Saturday, Easter Sunday, Easter Monday (varies, March/April); Anzac Day 25 April; Queen’s Birthday (varies, early June); Bank Holiday (first Monday in August); Labour Day (varies, September/October); Christmas Day (25 December); Boxing Day (26 December).

The New South Wales Bank Holiday, held on the first Monday of August each year, is exclusive to New South Wales. It only applies to certain employees that work within the banking sector, and therefore all banks in NSW are closed on this day.

On other public holidays, public transport still runs on a Sunday schedule, so why not take the opportunity to get out and explore Sydney? Head up to Bondi or Manly, or check out one of the attractions in the CBD. A range of other Sydney attractions remains open on public holidays, including the Sydney Harbour Bridge Climb, Taronga Zoo, SEA Life Aquarium and Wild Life Sydney Zoo.

If you want to take a holiday over the long weekend, click the link below to find the best accommodation deals. Don’t hesitate, as holiday accommodation is very popular during these times.

Do You Have a Question to Ask?

Click Here to Ask a Question

What date is the Bank Holiday NSW?
Where is the Bank Holiday NSW located?
What is the Bank Holiday NSW address?
What are the Bank Holiday NSW entry prices?
What is the Bank Holiday NSW phone number?
What is the Bank Holiday NSW email address?

Weather Forecast


Upcoming Events