Home » Events » Archibald Prize Exhibition
Archibald Prize Exhibition

Archibald Prize Exhibition

The Archibald Prize is an art competition that awards the best portrait of a person distinguished in art, science or politics.

The prize was first awarded in 1921, and today, it is a coveted art competition, with prize money awarded in the amount of $100,000.

Archibald Prize Exhibition 2024 Prize Winners, Dates, Hours & Art Tour

The competition started after J.F. Archibald made a bequest in his name, and the Art Gallery of New South Wales now administers the competition. The competition aims to support local Australian artists and create lasting memories of important Australian figures.

Past winners of the Archibald Prize have included Yvette Coppersmith (self-portrait), Mitch Cairns (Agatha Gothe-Snape), Louise Hearman (Barry Humphreys), Nigel Milsom (Charles Waterstreet), Fiona Lawry (Penelope Siedler), Del Kathryn Barton (Hugo Weaving), Ben Quilty (Margaret Olley), to name a few.

To be eligible to compete, the artist must have been resident in Australia or New Zealand for the eligibility period. The artwork itself must be a painting, a portrait painted from life, with the subject known to the artist, aware of the artist’s intention, and having at least one live sitting with the artist. It must not exceed the size limit of 90,000 square cm. The painting may be painted in any medium (such as oil, acrylic, or watercolour).

The Archibald Prize winner and finalists are displayed in the Art Gallery of New South Wales, and many portraits remain in the gallery’s permanent collection.


Click Here to Ask a Question

    • Hi Mark,

      It doesn’t appear that the dates for 2022 have been announced yet on the official website, but if the dates of 2021 are anything to go by, the delivery of entries by artist or representative or courier was between 8am – 4pm, on 26–30 April 2021.

      So you would expect the dates to be very similar for 2022.


    • Hi Peta,

      There doesn’t appear to be any dates listed for the 2022 event yet on the Art Gallery of New South Wales website, but when they are, i would suspect the will be published at https://www.artgallery.nsw.gov.au/prizes/young-archie/enter/.

      The 2022 dates are likely going to be similar to 2021, so using them as a guide, you would expect the key dates to be within a couple of days of this year:
      – Entry forms were available on 27 January 2021
      – Entries had to be received before 7 March 2021, 5pm
      – Finalists and honourable mentions announced on 27 May 2021
      – Young Archie exhibition at the Art Gallery of NSW between 5 June – 26 September 2021
      – Winners announced on 31 July 2021


What date is the Archibald Prize Exhibition?
What time is the Archibald Prize Exhibition?
Finalists and Packing Room Prize winner announced: 30 May 2024
Winners announced: 7 June 2024
Archibald Prize 2024 exhibition: 8 June – 8 September 2024, followed by the exhibition tour until 31 August 2025

Please visit our website for more information on the Archibald Prize Exhibition.
Where is the Archibald Prize Exhibition located?
What is the Archibald Prize Exhibition address?
What are the Archibald Prize Exhibition entry prices?
What is the Archibald Prize Exhibition phone number?

Weather Forecast


Upcoming Events